Skip to content

Waiting for Spring

March 5, 2009

Anyone from Maine knows that the beginning of March really tends to test your patience. This March has been no different. A few days of over 40 degrees spoiled us for a while, but anyone who has lived here long enough knows there is still plenty of winter around the corner.

Soldier Pond Bridge, Where I spend the bulk of my summer.

Soldier Pond Bridge, Where I spend the bulk of my summer.

Today I decided to take a break from the fly bench and constantly working on this site to get out and enjoy the sunny day. As promised I brought the camera along in hopes of capturing a few good shots of my favorite fishing spots in their natural winter coat. With my Lab Molly riding shotgun I did manage to get a few nice shots. She sat impatiently in the truck wondering what the hell I was doing standing in the bed, leaning on guard rails, and walking back and forth along the Soldier Pond Bridge. The wide angle zoom lens meant I would have to be a long ways away to get any good shots, which ended up being much more difficult than I expected. Ultimately I was left with a few decent shots out of about 75, I suck. a hungry lab, and an empty tank of gas. I leave you tonight with a few of my favorites. I’ll try harder next time, I promise.

This is how we learn to use the focus. It's a great tree, really. Fish River in the Background, right in front of my house.

This is how we learn to use the focus. It's a great tree, really. Fish River in the Background, right in front of my house.

Still getting used to the Focus. Hand cut and stacked during hunting season.

Still getting used to the Focus. Hand cut and stacked during hunting season.

Fish River Bridge, Fort Kent,ME.

Fish River Bridge, Fort Kent,ME.

The current in the Fish River, carving channels through the Ice. View From above.

The current in the Fish River, carving channels through the Ice. View From above.

Care to cast from the pier? Not in this icy water.

Care to cast from the pier? Not in this icy water.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

