Skip to content

Wishy's Words

March 17, 2009

Hello fellow readers!

I will start by introducing myself. My name is Ryan Wishart and I grew up in the small town of Soldier Pond that Ben believes should be the new Maine capital. I spent countless days watching fly-fishing in this small piece of fishing heaven. I am a self taught artificial fly fishing artist and I am honored to be invited by Ben to engage in some of my favorite topics of discussion. My first post will be about early spring fly fishing which seems fitting with spring starting in only a few more days (well technically anyways). Streamers are my fly type of choice in the spring time. Obviously it is still too cold for a dry fly hatch so streamers allow us to mimic what is already present in the water. This may include baitfish or other aquatic organisms. My favorite early spring streamer is the Magog Smelt. It is produced primarily from purple and white bucktail along with a few strands of peacock hearl. Other variations that I have tied include a little yellow, blue, or green bucktail. A picture can be seen below.

Wishbone's Magog Smelt

Wishbone's Magog Smelt

In Northern Maine a healthy population of smelt can be found in the lakes. In the springtime the smelt “run”up the rivers and brooks to spawn. This becomes an important food for Trout and Salmon that are just starting to become more active with the increasing water temperature. I like to fish it with a small spilt-shot a few inches up the leader (if using my floating line) or using sinking line to present the smelt closer to where the predator that I am seeking is located. When the water temps are still cold the fish are more lethargic and tend to take an easier “lunch” over a chase. Hope this tip works for you and good luck!

-Ryan

Oh and I would like to also add — My nicknames include Wish, Wishy, Wishbone.

add to del.icio.us Add to Blinkslist add to furl Digg it add to ma.gnolia Stumble It! add to simpy seed the vine :: TailRank post to facebook

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2009 6:45 am

    Great Lookin stuff Wishy, I’ll have to tie myself a few of those!
    @Eric-Keep the comments rollin man, It’s nice to hear from people!

  2. March 17, 2009 7:00 pm

    Sorry, two comments in a day.

    It’s good to know that the flies I use in ponds here for brook trout also work up there. I’ll be fishing in Maine for the first time in July, during a supposed good time to catch brookies.

    I’ve got a bunch of these tied up in various colors. Pink and blue is my best producer here.

    E

Leave a Reply

