Skip to content

Up'North's new Camera? Pentax Optio W60

April 2, 2009

-After years of faithful service skiing, hunting, fishing, and patrolling college parties, the days may be numbered for my 5.0 megapixel Canon point and shoot camera. Beaten and bashed from the concrete, steel, and asphalt I continuously drop it on, simply taking care of the camera is no longer an option. As my knowledge of higher quality photo editing programs has greatly increased, so has my need for a camera that takes higher quality pictures. While at home, my father is great about letting use his Canon Rebel and various lenses for landscapes and other nature photos, but I still feel like a smaller camera with waterproof capabilities would be nice to have out on the river.
Recently my search has taken me through Canon, Nikon, and Kodak options, but none that really jumped out at me as what I wanted. Then, a coworker turned me on to the Pentax Optio W60. If anyone knows of a better option for the price ($230) I’m all ears, but I really can’t imagine a better fit for my needs. This slim, 10 mega-pixel beauty is waterproof, dust proof, and cold proof, making it the ultimate adventure Camera for the fly fisherman. It’s absolutely loaded with great features, but maintains a smaller design for portability. While a larger Camera like my dad’s Rebel would be nice, lugging it out on the water would ultimately be a nuisance and getting it wet could be costly. I’m convinced that this is the camera for me!
If anyone has any experience with this Camera, or any Pentax camera I would love to hear from you. I only plan on making the purchase in a month or so!

Pentax Optio W60-The Potential Up'North Fly Castings Camera.

Pentax Optio W60-The Potential Up'North Fly Castings Camera.

Learn more about the Pentax Optio W60 by visiting PentaxImaging.com

Happy Castings,
-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

7 Comments leave one →
  1. April 2, 2009 11:56 am

    I’ve absolutely hammered my Pentax Optio over the last couple years while taking pics for the Trout Underground, and while it’s finally starting to show signs that it’s not long for this world, I can’t complain – and the photographs are nice.

  2. April 2, 2009 10:59 am

    I’ve been using a W10 for several years now and, if it ever dies, I will buy another Pentax in a heartbeat. For all of my SLR cameras… digital and film… I use Canon, but I love my little Pentax P&S. I recently recommended a W60 to a friend of mine for fishing trips, and would recommend it to you as well.

Trackbacks

  1. Up’North’s new Camera? Pentax Optio W60 « Up’North Maine Fly Castings

Leave a Reply

