Skip to content

Life, Love, and the Pursuit of Happiness

April 12, 2009

..Just a few thoughts before I crash out and wake up at 4:30am to start my long journey back to school.

-Well, another weekend enjoying the comforts of home has come and gone. It’s been said by many that all good things come to an end, and this certainly applies to my weekend. I feel like knowing my Summer is going to be spent away from home has forced me to appreciate all the little things I took for granted in the past. Simple things like eating dinner with my parents, or spending holidays like Easter gathered with my family around a home cooked meal will be sorely missed. While I look forward to all that my summer away from home will have to offer, I’ll always be a county boy at heart, born and raised!

Where I practice my casting every night I'm not on the River. The Pond in my Yard.

Where I practice my casting every night I'm not on the River. The Pond in my Yard.

I discovered a few things this weekend that I never really realized before. For instance, I now know that I suck a bowling. My girlfriend and my buddy made me look silly for a few hours on Saturday night, but somehow I still had a blast. It’s kind of like fly fishing for six hours and not even getting a rise, a certain simple joy just erases the need for anything other than what your experiencing in the current moment. I feel like this situation can easily be taken out of the context of bowling and applied to a number of different aspects in life. It explains why I get up every morning with the intention of writing about Fly Fishing, or why I put the Trout Bum Diaries in my father’s Netflix Quo so I could watch them over my Easter Weekend. (Thanks Dad) The bottom line is, it’s great to have a passion about something. With so many people losing their jobs, divorcing their spouses, and essentially giving up all hope, I feel like it’s important to have a positive outlook on life regardless of how terrible things might seem. Fly Fishing gives me this possitive outlook by providing me with an outlet for stress when nothing else seems to be working. This once seasonal release has become a year round savior for me with the addition of Fly Tying and Up’North Maine Fly Castings to my daily schedule. This way If I can’t be on the water, in one way or another I’m always connected to the sport on some level. It’s amazing to think that something so simple can brighten up almost any day.

So I guess what I’m trying to say is that sometimes the extra moral boost you might be looking for is right under your nose. Attack life for a different angle and think outside of the box instead of always taking the short conservative route. While getting upset and stressed is a normal part of life, be thankful for all the good things that often go unappreciated in your own life, and understand that out there somewhere thousands of people have it much worst than you ever have.

Tight Lines and Happy Times

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

