Skip to content

An Essay about Fly Fishing

April 14, 2009

-Bonjour faithful readers and google Junkies alike,

Today I made an important decision that could (hopefully) end with yours truly receiving a giant stack of cash and a published work, as well as a few lucky readers receiving some free Up’North gear!

logo

As some of you may have seen Via: Moldy ChumFirstWriter.com is sponsoring an essay contest that caters nicely to all of us Fly Fishing writers out there. The contest rules are simple, Write an essay or short fiction up to 3,500 words that clearly demonstrates a love of Fly Fishing. It was really a given that I would participate, I’m a broke college student who already writes about Fly Fishing for several hours a day! Entries are due on the first of June, and I plan on working incredibly hard to come up with something magical that is sure to bring home the bacon.

Allagash, Maine

Naturally, As soon as I complete my rough draft I’ll post it on Up’North for everyone to read and critique. Using your opinions and suggestions, I’ll fine tune the essay and finally submit my final product! If anyone has any idea that they think would be interesting and unique, feel free to sound off on your thoughts. Anyone who submits ideas that are used in the final product (whether I win or not) will receive a Free Up’North T-Shirt and an assortment of Up’North Die Cut Decals (Both coming soon) to stick on your car, house, boat, sisters forehead, etc.

Lets hear some ideas,

-Ben

*Keep in Mind: The essay must be MY OWN work. While you can point out weak areas of the essay or provide me with topic Ideas, please understand that I am limited as to what I can use.
add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Sal permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:49 pm

    Hey, nice site!

    I was thinking of buying some land on Bennoch Rd, in Alton. Ten mile brook is behind the property. Is there any fishing and or kayaking in that brook?

    Thanks,

    Sal

    PS: More videos 🙂

    • April 14, 2009 6:05 pm

      Hmmm, I’ll have to check out Ten Mile Brook, my fishing hasn’t led me to that one yet. I’m kinda gearing up to move down to southern Maine right now, So I’ve been concentrating on finding spots in that area. I’ll see if I can maybe fish it this weekend, the waters have gone down in many places enough to allow me to go wading! Stay tuned!

      P.S.-I’ll see what I can do for videos. I’m waiting on my new camera so I can capture so H.D. action to please the masses.

  2. Ben Bouchard permalink
    April 14, 2009 5:29 pm

    Great Website Ben! Keep on fishin!

Leave a Reply

