Skip to content

Up'North Bound with Salmon on the Brain!

April 23, 2009

-Well, driving is the name of the game this weekend.
This morning I make the drive two hours south to Windham to sign some papers and finalize my summer job at Bushmaster Firearms. After a quick lunch with my aunt, it’s back on the road for a five hour drive to Fort Kent. With the weather promising to be nothing short of amazing this weekend, I’m hoping the water levels are low enough to allow for some decent salmon fishing. I’ve heard some mixed reviews so far this season, but all in all it sounds like the fishing has been great in the past few weeks.

Fish River Classics

Fish River Classics: Photo By Ben Rioux

Unfortunately, northern Maine got dumped on with rain these past few days, receiving just over two inches before it was all said and done. My father said the rivers are rising like crazy, but I’m hoping they can drain out to normal levels before Saturday. Regardless, you know i’ll be out there dragging streamers and praying a nice Landlocked Salmon comes along to make my day. I’ve heard reports of a few fish over 24inches being taken last week, so I’m itching to throw my line into the mix! I have a few nice looking Ghost variations that I’m dying to test, including a black, white and green pattern that I have really high hopes for. I’ll post some pictures of all my recent flies (And Fish Hopefully) later this weekend, with a few more additions to the Fly Recipes page as well. Until then, Wish me luck!

"Stand By Me" Trail Trussel over the Fish River: Photo By Ben Rioux

"Stand By Me" Trail Trussel over the Fish River: Photo By Ben Rioux

Tight lines, and see you on the river!

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 24, 2009 9:12 am

    Good luck, Ben. Have you tried nymphing in the high water at all? I see you love fishing streamers, but don’t see you post much about nymphing. Give it a shot, it’s your best bet for high water trout IMO.

Trackbacks

  1. Up’North Bound with Salmon on the Brain!
  2. Up’North Bound with Salmon on the Brain!

Leave a Reply

