Skip to content

I sold my soul to College!

May 3, 2009

– So it’s that time of year again. The flowers are blooming, water levels are close to normal, and day after beautiful day just keeps rolling on by. It appears that something happened to Spring, because I’ve seen no signs of it in northern Maine. It seems like one day it was snowing and dastardly cold out, and the next morning I woke up to 70 and sunny. Regardless, its beautiful in Maine now, and who can complain? That is, other than me!

The Morning Sky-Photo By Benjamin Rioux

You see, while the transition to summer is an exciting time for most to break out of hibernation and enjoy the outdoors, for the next 5 days I will be stuck inside studying for the 4 finals I have coming up this week. It’s been an outstanding semester this Spring, and one final push is needed to close it out. I pray every day I could turn in to one of those lucky people who absorbs everything from class and has no use for studying, but pretending I am would lead to an ultimate failure. Instead I stack the books up high, start at the top, and work my way down. A strong urge to close out the semester will likely help me power through my beautiful days stuck inside (Pray for rain) as well as the knowledge that after finals I have a full week home to do NOTHING but fish.

A Day of Muskie Fishing on the Saint John River with the crew.

A Day of Muskie Fishing on the Saint John River with the crew.

Until then, unfortunately things around Up’North will be really sllloooowwwwwwwwww. One update daily is about all I’ll be able to muster, but don’t be surprised if on some days I don’t even have time for that. Please make use of my archives and the 160 previous posts I’ve worked so hard on to hold you over. Things should remain like this until Saturday May 9th when I return home. By then I should be unpacked and resting from my stressful week. During my first active week back, fishing will take priority, and most of my posts will likely contain pictures of my outings and the catch of the day. Stay tuned, because that week promises to be nothing short of spectacular.

Dad's Pet Bird, The Great Blue Heron

Dad's Pet Bird, The Great Blue Heron

For now I disappear into my lair, being studious and doing anything I can to forget about how nice it is outside, or how badly I want to go fishing. But I know the late nights and hard work will be worth it, so I have to buckle down and come out of it a champion. In the meantime, if anyone (fellow Fly Fishing Blogger, local friend, whatever) wants to make a guest appearance, please feel free. Any help I could get this week would be more than appreciated. Whether you fish in Maine or not doesn’t matter, as long as you give my readers something interesting to look at in my absence. If you fancy yourself a writer and want to take up my offer, shoot me an email @ MAINEFLYBOI@MAINEFLYCASTINGS.COM and I’ll get you set up and ready to roll.

help-wanted

So long, farewell, and until we meet again, tight lines.

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

One Comment leave one →
  1. May 8, 2009 2:33 pm

    Great article…..Beautiful sunset on the first pic.
    Used to see some like that when I was in the Navy.
    Always loved the water. I have a final coming up too…Good luck.

    Get more fishing information from Joe…..Or signup and get your free report. How to Catch Big Fish. http://www.fishyfishstuff.com/signup.html

Leave a Reply

