Skip to content

Simple

May 12, 2009

-Me and dad went fishing for a few hours tonight and returned home frozen and fishless. Three nice strikes came and went with no hookups, as just about every streamer in my vest hit the water at one point or another. I did snap a few pictures before tying off the boat and departing for the evening, so I guess I can’t say we came home empty handed. For someone who is constantly scouring for material to write about, pictures are pretty special. It’s pictures like this one that make me happy to live in Northern Maine.

That bridge has some pretty fond memories attached to it, but few as fond as the day me and my buddy Alex decided it was a good idea to try casting off of it. It was pretty terrifying to start your cast just to watch your fly come screaming up past your face and dive bombing back down at the back of your head. I wore my entire fly line around my neck at one point. I should have know how difficult it would be when after the second or third yard of backing, my fly still was not touching the water below. Lesson learned!

My fishing adventures continue tomorrow, wish me luck!

A Fish River Evening

Happy Castings,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

One Comment leave one →
  1. kennebagojoe permalink
    May 13, 2009 1:19 pm

    This is my first time trying anything like this, but cant fish today so I’ll try anything. I hope I am in the right place. This is quite a website, just what we needed to show off what mother nature gave us. This is supposed to be about Maine Flyfishing right?. well I am one and have been for over 50 years. My specialty is the Kennebago region and Rangeley area with a few special spots in the Jackman area. I got fishing with a 5 minute notice and stay until the hatch is over mostly. I tye my own have a small tying business for spending money. Would love to hear from folks of like interest. It never hurts to find new areas of fishing. Iam a registered Maine guide and have been for 40 years. I guide just for fun so anyone who wants to see my spots, just let me know. My fishing partner, Jim, and I would be glad to show you our kennebago.

Leave a Reply

