Skip to content

Flies and Fins Anthem

June 9, 2009

FliesandFins.com
– Recently at the Fly Fishing Film Tour stop in Portland I had the opportunity to meet the fellas of FliesandFins.com. Jeremy and the crew are as down to earth as they come, and have dedicated their lives to Fly Fishing all over the world. To open the show they performed live while a video of their fishing adventures played on the big screen. The scenes and song were both outstanding, and I couldn’t help but hum the tune the entire way home that night.
Lucky enough for all of you, the video and song are available on both FliesandFins.com and Youtube. While nothing can compare to the live performance, this song holds much truth for anyone who treats Fly Fishing more as a lifestyle than just a simple hobby.

Truly a song to live by,

I got flies in my pockets boxes full of dreams
So many places other people want me to be
Bills to pay calls to make guess they’re gonna have to wait
I’m busy doing nothin’ In the North Country
Trout, Salmon all around no hotels not even a town
Lay my head where it falls tonight
Wake up on the side of a stream cast my line tie on a dream
Waste another day chasing things with fins

Flies and fins are all I have Some folks think its so sad
Coulda been a politician or scientist
One of these days I know I’m gonna die so I work just enough to survive
Spend my time chasing fish and tying flies

Been to every coast, every mountain range
Met so many people can’t remember the names
Some are friends, some are not it don’t matter I forgot
Where I was yesterday
Thinkin’ bout the next cast Slow down ya move to fast
Sun’s goin’ down in the sky
Morning sun will find me Somewhere in the keys
Rolling a bone with crazy Charlie

Flies and fins are all I have Some folks think its so sad
Coulda been a politician or scientist
One of these days I know I’m gonna die so I work just enough to survive
Spend my time chasing fish and tying flies

I fish with an ex-psychiatrist and one day he told me this
The earth will spin into the sun
He says when that day comes it won’t matter what anyone done
Pack your bags we’re goin’ to the Margaree
All my friends are a little weird that’s what happens after so many years
Chasing fins and tying flies
Been this way every since I was a kid Wake up early chase the fins
Go to bed at night and do it all again

Click HERE to learn how to save the song to your computer and Ipod!

Tight lines,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 9, 2009 10:25 pm

    Hey right on man!!! Thanks for the post – and great to meet ya at the show! .. Appreciate the props and glad you dig the tune! I;m gonna send this to alex, boz, kory and the rest of the crew so they can see it too .. thanks again bro.

  2. June 9, 2009 10:06 pm

    The archive at F&F is loaded with great tunes.

Trackbacks

  1. Flies and Fins Anthem

Leave a Reply

