Skip to content

Pleasant River Indeed

July 13, 2009

– I’m sure there are a few reasons they call it the Pleasant River, but I now have my own reason…..or 3.

Today, after almost a month without catching a single fish, I made up for lost time. Following some pretty remarkable directions from one of my co-workers, I finally found myself peering over one of the most beautifully rustic bridges I have ever seen and down into the Pleasant River.

The Pleasant River

The Pleasant River

The setting was picturesque, and I can say without a doubt that the Pleasant is one of the most beautiful rivers I have ever had the pleasure of fishing. A rocky bottom made wading extremely easy, and the sheer number of spots available that could almost certainly produce fish blew my mind. Everywhere I turned I was casting in a new seam, a deep current, or a fishy looking pool. After such a long time away from fly fishing, I would be hard pressed to find a better setting, or a better day for the occasion.

Making the afternoon even more exciting, a fresh Double L 5wt recently arrived for my testing pleasure. While the rod was extremely nimble and felt great, it was still a size larger than what would have been ideal for the small river. Regardless, I had a blast. While I am nowhere near finished testing the rod, first impressions are extremely promising. When compared with the 10ft 6wt model, I would say I initially prefer the lighter rod. Stay tuned for more details in the coming weeks.

Great Colors, Southern Maine Brown Trout

Great Colors, Southern Maine Brown Trout

Now for the fishing! The fly of the day was the trusty size 12 Adams, and the name of the game was light Tippets. A 2lb test did the trick, and a few delicate presentations later I had my first fish on. The excitement of my first fish in weeks was short lived however, as that crafty trout decided to take a dive under the nearest log. I sloshed from one rocky riverbank to the other, dodging a bath by inches not once but twice. I was finally able to get to the log and free my line, just in time to see my exhausted fish slap around on the surface. I wanted so badly to take a picture, but I knew releasing the fish was much more important at this point. I coaxed the colorful Brown Trout back to life in the current, and he finally darted out of my hands and into the shadowy depths.

Pleasant River Brown Trout

Pleasant River Brown Trout

I guess my good deed was rewarded, because not two casts later I was into yet another Brown trout. This time I managed to snap a picture before releasing the fish, but not before a nice little fight. Sometimes a small trout feels better than a large Landlocked Salmon, and this was one of those times. After almost 40 minutes spent untangling tippets and re-tying leaders, I was able to hook into one more fish before calling it a night. All fish were between about 7 and 10 inches, but felt almost twice the size on the nimble rod. Each one felt better than the one before, and reminded me of why I love fly fishing so much.

I will return to the Pleasant River someday soon, with a fresh spool of Tippet and a few more tricks up my sleeve. Hopefully the next time around I can remember fresh batteries for the camera!

Tight Lines,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Mark Ouellette permalink
    July 15, 2009 8:19 am

    Ben, great to meet you. Nice website! Let me know if I can help you find a few more spots around here.
    Mark

  2. Wishy permalink
    July 14, 2009 6:49 am

    Ben, I think that I have been to this river before. Great story and what a wonderful looking place. I think next time you could use a partner! 🙂

Leave a Reply

