Skip to content

Just Drivin’

August 29, 2009

-Well, its that time of the year again.

For my forth (and final) year, tomorrow I pack up the Yukon and make the three hour journey south to the University of Maine at Orono. After a TERRIBLE week of fishing, it seems as if I’ll be hanging up the fly rod a defeated man. Everything I thought the fishing would be here was completely wrong!

Water Temps? Warm.
Winds? Average of 25mph since Monday.
Fish? Nowhere to be found.

Since the end of July, water temps are gotten into the “unfishable” region, with some areas hanging around 70 degrees. To make matters worst, even after the record rain we received in June, water levels are also extremely low.

Let it be known that I worked my ass of this week trying to catch a fish. My best chance came on Tuesday night trolling for Brook Trout on a remote pond with my girlfriend’s grandfather. After about 4 hours of fishing, I felt a small tug on my line only twice. While my week was surely not entirely about catching fish, it is defeating to work so hard on the water and have nothing to show for it.

The Saint John River in Fort Kent, Maine

The Saint John River in Fort Kent, Maine

My Lab Molly, Sleeping off a frustrating day fishing.

My Lab Molly, Sleeping off a frustrating day fishing.

Everybody tells me the same thing, “Two or three weeks and the fishing will be amazing.”

That’s great, amazing fly fishing while I’m three hours away in Orono. It looks like I’ll have to do some driving this fall if I plan on putting a few more fish in the photo album.

So today I finish packing up the truck, preparing to leave my hometown yet again. In my rear view mirror the rivers and ponds of the North Maine woods fade slowly on the horizon, a sight that makes my heart sink no matter how terrible the fishing is.

Back at school I’ll put in some quality time tying up some proven fall streamer patterns for my September fishing trips. O yeah, I’ll probably go to class and get some learning done as well…

See you on the road,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 29, 2009 11:12 am

    Smallmouth. They always save the day. I know you guys have some big boys up there, too.

Leave a Reply

