Skip to content

Mornin’ Coffee: Welcome Back Fall

September 23, 2009

– I’m not sure why I enjoy fall so much, after all, it does mark the end of fishing season. Still, something about this beautiful season just seems to improve any terrible moods I’m in. Hunting season is always a plus, bird hunting with my dad or with some friends, and trudging through waist deep snow looking for deer that just never seem to show up. The cool weather makes sleeping much more enjoyable, and the fall colors make every picture THAT much better.

Tying on one last Dry

Tying on one last Dry

With yesterday being the first day of fall, I think it is finally time for me to acknowledge the sad truth, my fishing season is practically over. I’ll be attending the L.L.Bean Hunting Expo this coming weekend, which coincidentally falls on the last weekend of the season. While some remote ponds will remain open for a few more months, the likelihood of me finding the time to actually get out and fish them is slim to none.

Gone are the days of 10 minute drives to fish from the bridge over Soldier Pond, and gone are the days of swinging a beefy Gray Ghost in the fish river for hungry landlocked salmon. While I can look back and reminisce on some of the finer moments of my season, I would have to say with gritted teeth that overall, I’m disappointed.

The Spring season saw by far the most fish, including my largest landlocked to date, which gave me hope for a productive summer and even fall. Being away from home severely cut into my time fishing in northern Maine, and going elsewhere to satisfy my need for trout was much more difficult than I had ever expected.

My best day of fishing in 2009, a day on the Fish River with Dad, and my best Landlocked Salmon to date.

My best day of fishing in 2009, a day on the Fish River with Dad, and my best Landlocked Salmon to date.

But above all, my disappointment comes from two goals that I failed to reach during the 2009 season, catching my first Striper and Muskie on a Fly Rod. I put equal time in trying to complete each goal, but it’s safe to say that both fish require much more than 2 or three full days on the water. I simple could not find the time.

I’d like to thank Mac Mckeever for giving me a couple chances at some stripers, and opening my eyes to an entirely different side of fly fishing. While neither of us were fortunate enough to land a fish while we were on the water together, I have no doubt that eventually we’ll run into some better luck.

This summer I also had the opportunity to meet and fish with none other than the Roughfisher himself, Mr. Jean-Paul Lipton. It was an absolute pleasure fishing with such a classy fellow, and I look forward to many more days of learning from the King of Carp. Who knows, maybe I have a little brownliner in me somewhere!

In closing I would like to thank all the companies, individuals, and family who have supported me and my fishing pursuits in the last year. I could not keep writing or having such memorable experiences to write about without your accommodations and understanding of my powerful obsession for this sport. I know that right now it might seem silly to many of you, but I promise that In a few years I’ll change your minds.

For now, I’d like to wish all of you a happy Fall, productive hunting season, and the best of luck on hooking up with just ONE more fall trout before the waters close. And don’t forget, October 1 also marks the start of another important season, Fly Tying!

Tight Lines (and loaded clips)

-Ben

Keep your eyes peeled for my photographic timeline of the 2009 season! Coming Soon!

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

2 Comments leave one →
  1. stflyfisher permalink
    September 24, 2009 7:12 am

    Ben – it was a lackluster start to the fishing season down my way too, mainly due to the relentless rains and high rivers and creeks. Fall has been better though – making up for lost opportunities…

    Stripers are coming up – the big fall blitzes will be hitting the beaches off NY and NJ soon – but I too have never caught one on a fly – only spinning gear. Are they over up your way?

    Tight lines…

    Bob (Southern Tier Fly Fisher)

  2. September 23, 2009 1:07 pm

    Certainly makes me appreciate the year-round regulations on the Upper Sac….

Leave a Reply

