Skip to content

Fly Recipes Page Update!

November 22, 2009

Howdy Folks!

I added the Alexandra recipe below to the Up’North Fly Recipes page, good luck. This has been by far one of my favorite flies to tie in my early fly tying career, and I’ll probably have at least 10 or 15 by the time the season rolls around. Email me at maineflyboi@maineflycastings.com if you want one and I’ll add you to the list. First one is free, the rest I’ll sell for $3 bucks a pop once I get the Up’North Store going in December. Please specify wet fly or streamer, and if streamer specify which size you prefer. All flies will include a snazzy business card and a special Up’North surprise! (I’ll think of something!)

The Alexandra

I first heard about this fly in the Autumn 2009 issue of Fly Tyer and was instantly drawn by it’s flashy mix of silver tinsel and peacock sword. Originally tied as a wet fly, I opted for a size 6 streamer hook instead so I could more effectively fish it for landlocked salmon in the Spring and Summer months. The first fly I tied (left in the picture) I used flat silver tinsel and then finished it with oval. The traditional pattern calls for a body of flat silver ribbed by the oval, but I thought I would be original. After looking at the finished product, I opted for a full body of silver oval tinsel and much prefer the results. This is just one of a few Ray Bergman patterns I plan  on tying this winter, so my box should be full of them just in time for the Spring ice out. I’ve contemplated also tying a much larger version on a long shank size 2 streamer hook, with a few additions to boot. I’ll be sure to post it when I finally get around to testing my ideas!

HOOK: Wet Fly/Streamer hook size 14-6

THREAD: Black 70 denier

TIP: Dark red floss

TAIL: Peacock Sword

BODY: Flat Silver Tinsel (Variation: Oval silver tinsel)

RIB: Oval Silver Tinsel (Variation: No rib w/oval body)

THROAT: Claret Hackle fibers

WING: Peacock Sword

**7 turn whip finish, 2 coats clear head cement, black lacquer.

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Bobby Brownsocks permalink
    November 26, 2009 12:35 am

    Saaaweeeet! Ill take a size 6

Trackbacks

  1. Confrontation on the River « Up'North Maine Fly Castings

Leave a Reply

