Skip to content

Gone Hunting For ???

November 27, 2009

– It’s Thanksgiving break, the Turkey has been served, and I am now couch ridden and full of pumpkin pie and stuffing. Yes Zack Brown, “Life is good today.”

This morning I took another walk on my uncles land to see if I could track down any sign of deer that might be moving through the area. The tree farm is truly a perfect setting for whitetails, and with a little management and planting it would be a spectacular area for a stand, if there were deer in northern Maine.

The truth of the matter is, my hunting trips for deer this season have been nothing more than glorified nature walks. The deer population in northern Maine has simply not recovered from the dismal winters of recent years, and unless we do something drastic I do not foresee things improving any time soon. A closed season for an extended period of time is in our near future, and I believe it is totally necessary. This is a sad reality for northern Maine, where only 50 years previous bagging that trophy buck was all but guaranteed. Hopefully the right decisions will be made and we can reverse this disturbing trend to build the populations back up again. Only time will tell.

Tomorrow I hit the woods with some buddies in search of the peace and quiet that undoubtedly escapes us in the real world. While rifles will be present, simply socializing and having a good time is the priority of this trip. A home cooked meal at hunting camp, some card games, and of course, some frothy beverages should make this a memorable time. I’ll share some pictures when I roll back into town later on this weekend.

For now, I leave you with a handful of photographs from my walk today. I hope you all had a wonderful Thanksgiving!

Photography by Benjamin Roux-2009

See you in the woods!

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

