Skip to content

Holy Moose!

December 8, 2009

My father forwarded me this email last night and I just had to post it. This moose was photographed in Elliot Lake, Ontario, and quiet frankly it makes my 900lb bull look like a baby.

Update!

I’ve been bombarded with various reports since this post went live from people claiming to have received a similar email. Each email contains the same photographs, but many cite different locations, including but not limited to locations throughout Mass, Maine, and N.H.

But are these photographs even real, or just a fine example of some intricate Photoshop work? Look closely at the details and sound off below!

This text was included in the email…

Elliot Lake is near Sault Ste. Marie

Look at this Moose!

By the length of his beard and the gray legs, I figure he must be over 10
years old. He looks to be well over 8 feet at the top of the shoulder hump,
and with his head up the height to the top of his antler must be about 12
feet .This guy is king of the forest, no bear or pack of wolves would dare
come after him when he has this rack……Considering that a dirt road can
fit 1 1/2 cars across … this fellow is HUGE …THIS IS ONE BIG BOY!

THE PICTURE WAS TAKEN IN ELLIOT LAKE

Yes it is a regular size dirt road.

This fella is huge indeed, a pure monster even in Yukon standards. If I were this Moose I would head for the hills and lay low. The Rack Man Real Langlois is likely to be hot on his trail come hunting season.

Kinda makes you terrified to drive through the woods now doesn’t it?

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex Mitchell permalink
    December 8, 2009 5:37 pm

    I agree fake. It just doesn’t look right. Forwardmost starboard hoof seems to be missing/disappeared in the first pic, and the shadow fact I agree with, particularly in the second pic where some sunlight spots on the road shouldn’t be there.

  2. December 8, 2009 5:12 pm

    I looked over these images for a while, and nothing jumped out at me as photoshopery. To me the sun looks correct, there is no clear cut line, and the hue and contrast looks correct for the moose to have been taken in the same light quality.

    In the second image you can see the sunlight on the hair on the front right leg of the moose, and it appears the shadows on the road have changed due to the moose blocking the light.

    The world record Moose was apparently shot in Russia, and was 15 feet tall and over 2300lbs. I don’t know enough about European/Asian forests to tell if the foliage is correct, but maybe this is just a very big non-US moose, on a skinny dirt road.

    • December 8, 2009 5:36 pm

      Good observations, you make some extremely valid points. I don’t know enough about photoshop to see them through an educated lens, but I do know a thing or two about Moose. A bull this size is most certainly possible, especially in the northern United States.

      I know the Russian Bull you speak of, huge indeed. Harsh winters and conditions in that area combined with almost NO hunting pressure due to the vast reaches of the wilderness mean these fellas can grow to HUGE sizes. Only the strong survive out there, so naturally they would be massive.

  3. Wishy permalink
    December 8, 2009 11:28 am

    Ill tell you the biggest reason why I believe this is a fake…. The sun is located at approximately 280 degrees in the photo… notice no shadow in the foreground. It would clearly have a shadow of at least the rack because you can see pathes of light through the trees on the ground. Just my opinon 🙂

    • December 8, 2009 11:58 am

      Good, I’m glad someone else is slightly suspicious. I was waiting for anyone else to notice something funky. I’ve seen no reports online of this being a fake, but I’ve had my suspicions as well.

      Anyone else?

Leave a Reply

