Skip to content

The Birthday List

December 9, 2009

I turn 22 today, but according to some ladies and gents I act a lot older. It must be the fly fishing, the general public sees it as the pastime of older gentleman right? Let’s examine my current life patterns and discover what makes me so old, shall we?

  • I’ve never really been in to single malt scotch, but I do tend to smoke a cigar or two when the occasion calls for it (or the black flies get too thick).
  • When I roll out of bed in the morning I hold my aching back and curse under my breath, usually all the way to the coffee maker.
  • I don’t read the paper very often, but Twitter does an amazing job of keeping me informed.
  • There is usually about a 50% chance I’m going to fall asleep in the shower.
  • I dress for success, whatever the occasion. If that mean’s camo and carhartts then you know your in for one hell of a day.
  • I listen to country music because it makes sense. I’ll never drive a escalade on 24s, I would never pimp slap a woman, and I would never sell drugs or hang a crip flag. I do own some guns though…
  • Frank Sinatra is the man.
  • I drink cheap beer or red wine. It’s what I like. I’ll be damned if I’m paying $16 dollars for a 12 pack so some group of morons can think I’m “cultured.”
  • Afternoon naps are ALWAYS a good idea.
  • My black lab is my best friend. Want the title? Sit at the end of my driveway every afternoon and wait for me to come home, follow me around all day just because, sleep on my feet to keep them warm, and never complain when I take you fly fishing.
  • Family first–>Fly Fishing–>Females–>Everything else. Don’t mess with the natural order of things…
  • I’m politically outspoken and value our U.S. Constitution. (Apparently that makes me old fashioned now)
  • I watch Glenn Beck. (And I know you judge me for it)
  • You can NEVER have too many fly rods. Ever.
  • My clothing occasionally sports stray feathers and thread from past fly tying sessions.
  • I start most of my stories with “Back in the day…”
  • I love living in Northern Maine. You can keep your bright lights and big cities, my dog needs a yard to run around in, and my front porch better have a view of the water and wilderness.
  • River Banks are for sleeping, old town canoes, and watching the sun go down.
  • I don’t go fly fishing, I go “stress relieving.”
  • I drive a truck, because a Toyota Prius and a 1000lb Moose will NEVER go hand in hand.
  • I love powder, backcountry booters, urban rails, and carving switch down steep slopes. If you don’t know what any of that means you should learn.
  • I go to bed early and wake up before the sun. That way, the start of every day reminds me of hunting season.

Fish River Landlocked Salmon with Dad

Fly Fishing with my Best Friend

The people who pay my bills and put up with my B.S.

I could go on and on for days, and most of you would probably stop reading if you haven’t already. My point is, If fly fishing makes me old, who would want to be young? Over the past few years many of my most memorable life experiences have come from fly fishing. The places I’ve been, and the people I’ve met along the way have helped shape who I am today, and I am extremely thankful for that. December 9 is my birthday, but every day of the year is equally as special.

A friend of mine said it best when I mentioned that life at times can be tough.

“It’s rough, but it’s not like our lives are tough, look at all of our pictures, they say a lot.”

He could not BE more right. I am truly blessed. 22 is just a number, but what It represents when life experiences are taken into account makes me smile every time.

Tight Lines,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Alex Mitchell permalink
    December 9, 2009 7:18 pm

    Is it weird that I specifically found and listened to this song while I read your list? Followed immediately by Smalltown USA.

  2. December 9, 2009 4:19 pm

    20 F***in 2 today……………Your avin a laugh geeza!
    Well happy birthday mate…you saggie you….mines on Saturday 43. Bones creek, skin is stating to get thinner,hair fallin out, itchy bollocks, knees n ankles sore….still a long way for that to go for you mate.

    Hope yer havin a top day with friends n Family

  3. December 9, 2009 10:54 am

    Happy Birthday brutha!

Leave a Reply

