Skip to content

Mornin’ Coffee: Catching Up!

January 25, 2010

-Howdy Folks, and a Happy Monday morning to you all!

It has been some time since I’ve had the opportunity to bring you a Mornin’ Coffee post, my schedule simply does not allow me to post as frequently and systematically as I would like. Still, the plus side to this scenerio is that when I finally can do a Mornin’ Coffee post, it really feels like a special occasion!

I could start off talking about how angry I am with Brett Farve today, but I won’t. I could talk about Scott Brown, Glenn Beck, or the fading National Health Care agenda, but mixing politics and fly fishing is simply unnecessary. And I could speak briefly about the cycle of warm weather, cold weather, snow, and rain that Maine just can’t seem to escape, but I won’t talk about that either.

Instead, I thought It would be nice to formally congratulate the Libby and Corriveau families and my cousin Jessica on her new baby boy Parker. I cannot wait until that little man gets his first fly rod, and I’m sure his first casts probably won’t come far behind his first steps! That just leaves one obvious question: Does Orvis make toddler fishing apparel? A big Up’North congratulations goes out to Matt, Jess, and big sister Kayla. I look forward to meeting the little fella!

Other than new additions to the family, I have also acquired some new additions to my fly box. The Winter 2009 “Favorite Streamer” swap is now in the books, and the participating fellas from the Streamer List have really outdone themselves. A while back I posted my Maple Syrup variation that I tied up for the swap, and it was joined by 12 other stunning streamers to round out the collection. As you can see from the photo below, lots of fish catching potential is now in my possession. Still, some streamers are almost too nice to fish! Chris Del Plato’s Golden Darter is simply stunning, and will likely remain in it’s packaging until I can mount it in a small frame that will hang proudly on the wall in my home or office. I would like to thank everyone involved for helping to make my first fly swap a HUGE success. I have learned much from the experience and look forward to many more swaps in the near and distant future.

Click to see a larger picture of each streamer!

As the rain falls steadily outside my window, I can’t help but drift into a daydream of warmer weather and Spring fishing. The wait is simply unbearable, but I know that in due time April 1st will roll into town, and with it a brand new season full of adventures and learning experiences. Until then, I’ll have to settle for my daily dose of fly fishing blogs, gear reviews, and pictures from past seasons to get me through the rough times. My fly tying vise has a long winter ahead of it!

Tight Lines,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

One Comment leave one →
  1. SUE CORRIVEAU permalink
    February 23, 2010 3:53 pm

    NICE JOB BEN!!! JUST WAIT, YOU’LL HAVE A LOT OF COMPETITION IN A FEW YEARS!!! FLY FISHING IS IN HIS BLOOD BUT DON’T FORGET KAYLA IS AHEAD OF PARKER! SHE WILL ALSO BE MOOSE HUNTING BEFORE YOU KNOW IT.

Leave a Reply

