Skip to content

Tie Another Day

February 27, 2010

Occasionally I get ambitious and sit down at the vise for a few hours, usually left to ponder patterns and hone my skills alone. This time I was fortunate enough to have my partner in crime Lucas on the scene. While I tend to stick to the streamer side of the craft, he tends to lean towards the realm of dries and wets. After a few hours of catching up we were left with a new excitement for the season ahead, and several flies a piece to aid us in actually catching these fish we so often speak of.

Here are a few pictures from the occasion, enjoy!

Notice strategically placed business card

Trout love variation!

Bottles added for photographic effect. DO NOT drink and tie.

As most college students return home or venture towards warmer destinations this Spring break, for the next two weeks I sit in my apartment looking for ways to amuse myself with bits of tinsel, feathers, and thread. Between school work and watching the U.S. hockey team win gold tomorrow, I just may fill a box or two!

Happy Tying,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 3, 2010 10:36 pm

    Will do! You ought to be able to catch a salmon or two in the Fish River or Soldier Pond on opening day. Have you had much luck there early in the season? I’ve had early luck in the thoroufare between St. Froid and Eagle Lakes, some years.

  2. February 28, 2010 4:27 pm

    Looks like fun! I just started tying a week ago. Finally broke down and bought a kit. Caught my first fish on a self-tied fly this week. 17″ brown on a variation of a pheasant tail nymph. Also landed a pile of smaller rainbows and browns, 13-16″. Trout are biting good even in February here!

    • March 1, 2010 11:56 pm

      Your too lucky man, I need to hold on for a few more months before I will likely see a fish on the line. Catch a few for me!

Leave a Reply

