Skip to content

New Chapter

March 16, 2010

– A harsh reality of this world met me head on in the wee hours of Sunday morning. Perfection is a myth, and one that captivates those around us all too frequently. But realizing this today serves me as a blessing, not a curse. A chance to learn one of life’s valuable lessons, and a chance to grow bold and prosper from all of the riches this world has to offer. Confused? You probably should be. Just take my words to heart and sit tight.

I started this blog on a whim, one Sunday afternoon when I should have been doing homework. My blood, sweet and tears have gone into it’s creation, from nothing to something in what feels like overnight. What others see as a simple hobby is actually a passion, matched in intensity only by my constant need to be out on the water. I’m proud of what Up’North has become, and I honestly feel that if read closely enough, the story of my life can be found in each article, page, or passing blurb.When I say I appreciate the support, know that it goes far beyond this small town website. I’ve made it a point in my life to work tirelessly for everything I want. I’m a strong believer that there is no such thing as failure, just an alternate way of doing things that no one had discovered yet. In the coming months on Up’North I hope to break the mold, moving away from the traditional bounds of fly fishing media and paving my own way.

Be calm, you can still expect all of the same content you’ve grown accustomed to. Think of the new content as a welcomed addition to an already amazing, truly spectacular, out of this world entertaining blog. So what is this special new content you ask? Time will most certainly tell.

Stay tuned for….

  • An update to Up’North’s 1st (and wildly popular) contest
  • New additions to the photography page
  • First impressions on some new rods, reels, and gear for 2010
  • The 2010 LLBean Spring Fishing Expo
  • and much, much more.

I need an outlet bad these days, and this is it. Back and better than ever, the Up’North re-up is coming soon to a computer near you.

-Ben

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2010 7:26 pm

    “I started this blog on a whim, one Sunday afternoon when I should have been doing homework. My blood, sweet and tears have gone into it’s creation, from nothing to something in what feels like overnight. What others see as a simple hobby is actually a passion, matched in intensity only by my constant need to be out on the water. I’m proud of what Up’North has become, and I honestly feel that if read closely enough, the story of my life can be found in each article, page, or passing blurb.”

    We have more than teaching history in common. Reminds me of when I started my blog. It was late one night with schoolwork and marabou scattered across my desk. I should have been writing an essay on some historical topic but fly fishing ADD set in. It has since become a journal of my life on the water and I too am quite proud of it. I have been thinking about renovation and expansion in an attempt to offer more mainstream appeal than my time on the water. I don’t know if I am there yet, but one day, one day.

    Cheers to a new beginning.

    • March 17, 2010 11:17 pm

      Are we brothers? hahaha

      It really is a liberating thing to have something you care so much about that you know you can NEVER lose. Fly fishing isn’t something that you simply stop enjoying, once your hooked there really is no going back.

      I’ll add a link to your blog ASAP. I thought I had already, my bad brotha.

      And thank you, Cheers to the new beginning.

      -Ben

  2. March 16, 2010 1:37 pm

    Best of luck with the new chapter…

Leave a Reply

