Skip to content

Sunday Brunch: WHAT!?

March 28, 2010

New Up’North Series! While the extremely popular “Mornin’ Coffee” post probably won’t be resurrected until AFTER student teaching, who DOESN’T have time for some Sunday Brunch!?

And the wind blows……and blows, and blows (Damn you Maine, Damn you).

When word that open water fishing season was to open early came on Thursday, I was already outdoors enjoying the beautiful day……running. Yup, I said running. In the past few weeks I’ve been making the gym a frequent part of my day. Think of it as a precursor to the extreme aerobic activities that come with a busy fly fishing season (right). It’s hard to believe that I could be caught off guard by this early season announcement, but I’d be lying if I said I wasn’t caught with my pants on the ground.

Click me for the 2010 Early Open Water Fishing Season ***OFFICIAL PRESS RELEASE***

– New fly lines still in the mail, old ones at home.

– Switch rod home, 5wt home, 6wt and 7wt,, home.

– Vest and lanyard, home.

– FISHING LICENSE, home.

What I have left is enough fly tying materials to stock a fly shop, two spankin’ new Shearwater reels with no line, and a 10 weight Silver Ghost just begging for a Muskie to fight with. Pants on the ground indeed.

This coming Thursday and the weekend that follows is sure to be one for the record books, and an event long anticipated by the Up’North crew. Our youngest brother in arms is finally earning his stripes, as Jonathan “Jizzon” Morin turns the big 21 on April first. Friday, Saturday, and Sunday will find us chasing Muskie, Trout, and Salmon at some of our favorite haunts in northern Maine, camera in hand. Pictures from the birthday festivities and the fishing weekend will be plentiful, and will filter onto the site after a short recovery period.

The soon to be birthday boy with a Juvi-Landlocked Salmon in Summer 2009. Gray Ghost strikes again!

So while the open water fishing season is officially underway, I sadly concede that April 1st will probably still be my opening day. It’s time to man-up and put my student teaching first this week, working ahead to assure that my fishing filled weekend will be earned, and the following Monday won’t be a complete disaster. Time will tell!

Get out and fish!

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

