Skip to content

Great Start

April 18, 2010

– The fly rod got a workout yesterday, but more from the swift current than from fish. In the battle between gear and streamers, gear took the trophy on my first day of Salmon fishing in 2010.

My entire box of streamers hit the water in the 9 hours of fishing yesterday, but my first fish of the season is still out there somewhere. I’m rigging up a few different line combos for my next time out to get myself a little deeper in the water column, but something tells me my sink-tip line should still stay in the water at all times.

The good news is, sizable fish were caught and Salmon fever is running hotter than ever. My father managed a great Landlocked Salmon in the morning, and my buddy Alex’s fiance Ashley hauled in an absolute monster later in the afternoon. Both on lures, but both made me extremely jealous. At the end of the day I am still extremely excited to have witnessed some great fish so early in the season. Gotta love northern Maine.

Dad's first salmon of the season, beautifully spotted!

Ashley's 4.7 lb Landlocked Salmon. This is why we fish.

The posts will be frequent this week as I enjoy a little vacation here in northern Maine. But expect more pictures than insightful words or long drawn out stories. After all, Spring fishing is blowing up, and I much rather be on the water than on my computer.

Time to cast off the cobwebs!

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

