Skip to content

Guess Who’s Back?

April 29, 2010

Well, not officially, but the end is VERY near.

Heeeerrreee we go!

As I wrap up my teaching degree and say goodbye to the undergraduate lifestyle, I felt it important to take some time off to send my apologies out to all of my dedicated readers. I know how extremely frustrating and painful it must have been this week, returning to Up’North day after day with not an update to be seen! Trust me, I share your pain.

Cruisin' the Little Black River with Team Chaos

A day without fishing is tough enough, but a day without writing about fishing only intensifies the struggle. But while I divert my attention away from the wonderfully entertaining world of fly fishing, I assure you it is all for a good cause. What is that cause you ask? To better my future fly fishing career of course!

Derplo at the rivers edge, Scott Canoe in tow!

You see, the world of education has it’s perks. Namely, Summers off! While this is certainly not something I would highlight in a job interview, the thoughts of month long trips to Alaska have provided a much needed boost from the depths of senioritis. While this is by no means the only perk that comes with a life in education, with an obsession as strong as mine it is CERTAINLY notable.

Life as we know it is pretty grand!

While I wrap up my Senior year at the University of Maine, I hope you’ve enjoyed this lovely set of photographs from my Spring break back home. More updates are coming your way this weekend, including a ton of pictures, a few reviews, and some detailed fishing and water level reports. Life will get back to normal here at the Up’North compound. Hell, I’ll just be a more highly educated river rat!

Looks like I’ll need to start charging for my services!

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

4 Comments leave one →
  1. May 1, 2010 8:18 pm

    Absolutely. Once the water warms up it should be easier to get into ’em. I don’t know of anyone else who’s been able to master muskie on the fly up there, so you will certainly be quite the resource if you get it figured out.

    Did anyone else have luck catching brookies in the Little Black? I have always wanted to try getting after them this early in the season but like the old timers say, “gotta wait till the buds on the aspen trees are the size of a mouse’s ear.”

    I’m kind of thinking that if a guy could find some nice slow holes and toss nymphs in front of their noses it ought to work though.

    Have you been taking water temps?

    • May 4, 2010 6:34 am

      Jeremiah,

      Sorry to be the bearer of bad new man, but the Little Black is FULL of Muskie. Has been for a little while now. Terrible, I know. Im sure there are a few stray trout here and there-but I wouldn’t hold out for many.

      Damn things are ruining some beautiful trout fisheries, thats for sure.

      -Ben

  2. April 30, 2010 3:16 pm

    Nice pics Ben, but where are the fish?

    • May 1, 2010 11:01 am

      Ahhhh I must admit, I strayed from my element and tried to put a giant fly in the mug of a Muskie all week. Fished salmon twice with no luck. I need to redeem myself after graduation. No worried though, i’ll slam both this summer on a regular basis. Horrrraaaayyy

Leave a Reply

