Skip to content

Brook Trout Love

May 21, 2010

– Trolling Wednesday evening was not nearly as productive as I had hoped, but it certainly wasn’t a total loss. As the sun fell behind the hills and the last bit of light hung on for dear life, Mr. Morin managed to pull a pesky Brook Trout from the water before we called it a night. While another fish-less night certainly weighs heavy on my mind, the simple fact that no one seems to be catching much of anything these days definitely makes it more bearable. Like any fly fisherman, I’ve opted to blame this fish-less outing on my gear.

I may be out of luck, but I’ll never be out of excuses.

Jon Morin with a Spring Brook Trout

A weekend of fishing, and only 4 days until a big Allagash camping trip should produce some decent fish. If it doesn’t, I may need some serious bass therapy.

I can’t believe I just said that.

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Lewellyn Morneault ( Pepere Lew ) permalink
    May 22, 2010 1:05 am

    Hi Jon or Mr Morin like Ben is calling you;;;; You never told me you had caught such a nice trout,,,, why ?? Jon I just bought 4 muskie new lure’s,,, should see ! Hope I will try soon.. last Sunday your brother Tom and I caught some nice trout at Square Lake tarefare.. plus lots of catch and release…they were all over the place.. glad you and Ben and some of your friends are finally getting your share of these nice brookee’s….. Pepere Lew

  2. May 22, 2010 12:24 am

    You should head South! I have been catching some nice Brook Trout from the Aroostook and the Madawaska on dries.

Leave a comment