Skip to content

Here We Go

May 25, 2010

– Step back.

Step back from a hectic, hellishly frantic life. Endless bills, responsibility, headaches, and expectations that can be impossible to meet. Step back from that to-do list that will never get done, that meeting that feels like it might never end, and that repetitive day job that leaves you begging for Friday and crying on Sunday. Step back from the daily grind. For just a few days step back from the normalcy and do something different.

Fish a new pond, float a new river, cast from a new bridge….

My favorite fishing buddy, hot on my heals during a morning trout hunt.

Because many of you are likely visiting MaineFlyCastings.com for the first time, I would like to extend my warmest welcome and humble appreciation to all for your interest and support. For over a year now I have taken great pride in straying off the beaten path and providing my readers with content they aren’t likely to find anywhere else. Original stories, fly tying tips, personal essays, product reviews, and photography born on countless river banks, back-country ponds, and remote lakes across the North Maine Woods and beyond. All born from one love. A love for fly fishing, and an appreciation for something much larger than myself.

As I leave for a 5 day fishing trip into the very heart of the Allagash, I would like to wish you and yours a wonderful, endlessly exciting, truly blessed Memorial day weekend. Whether your casting a line or laying back and soaking up the sun, use this holiday weekend to give yourself a break from normal routines and the stresses of life that consume us all too often.

I’ll be chasing down native brook trout, monster lake trout, and a more simple way of life for the next 5 days. I may not catch a ton of the first two, but you can bet I’ll immerse myself in the latter.

Tight Lines,

-Benjamin Rioux

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

No comments yet

Leave a comment