Skip to content

Muddler Madness

February 1, 2010

– Recently I’ve had a shameful (or not) obsession with Marabou, tying with it furiously usually in small black ghost variations. It is no secret that Marabou has an action in the water that just drives fish crazy. It’s natural movements are preferred by many tyers when designing new patterns, but marabou also goes a long way in enhancing many classic patterns as well.

Muddlers-Tied by Simon Graham: http://www.pikeflyfishingarticles.blogspot.com

Up’North friend and Pike fly expert Simon Graham tied me a beautiful collection of large flies for my Muskie fishing adventures this summer. In return I sent him a bag of goodies including some assembled tandems, cork popper heads, threads, and more. So what did Simon do with the new addition to his stash? What else!? He turned around and tied me EVEN MORE stunning flies, this time for trout and salmon.

Muddlers-Tied by Simon Graham: http://www.pikeflyfishingarticles.blogspot.com

I would like to personally thank Simon for his kindness and friendly dealings with Up’North over the past few months. In all honesty I would be ecstatic to receive even one of your stunning patterns, let alone an entire collection. You may not think so (you humble devil you) but I am forever in debt to you. Some day I hope to have even a fraction of the skills that you do at the vise, and when that day comes I’ll be sure to send some patterns your way!

May your bobbins be full and your fly box fluffy,

-Ben

add to del.icio.us :: Add to Blinkslist :: add to furl :: Digg it :: add to ma.gnolia :: Stumble It! :: add to simpy :: seed the vine :: :: :: TailRank :: post to facebook

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 1, 2010 4:47 pm

    No worries Ben….when I get some more free time I’ll knock up some more for you in a few different colour variations. maybe in olive and burnt orange combos sculpin stylie.

Leave a comment